Commission membership

ESCOSA - Corporate banner image

The Chairperson, Acting Chairperson and Commissioners are appointed by the Governor, pursuant to section 12 of the Essential Services Commission Act 2002. The Governor may appoint persons as Commissioners who are qualified for appointment on the basis of their knowledge of, or experience in, industry, commerce, economics, law and/or public administration.

The Commission comprises of Mr Brett Rowse (Chairperson), Dr Lynne Williams (Acting Chairperson), Ms June Roache and Professor David Round.

Mr Brett Rowse - Chairperson and Commissioner

Brett Rowse - Commissioner image 

Mr Rowse was appointed as Chairperson of the Commission in July 2016.

Mr Rowse has worked for 35 years in Treasury and Finance Departments at both the national and State level covering a diverse range of public sector policy issues. He provided broad policy guidance on a range of issues, with a particular focus on economic and financial management.

In January 2003, Mr Rowse was appointed Deputy Under-Treasurer in the South Australian Department of Treasury and Finance, and in December 2010 was appointed Under-Treasurer, South Australian Department of Treasury and Finance.

Mr Rowse chaired the South Australian Financing Authority Board and was also a Board member of the Adelaide Festival, Motor Accident Commission and Funds SA.

Mr Rowse retired from the position as Under Treasurer, Department of Treasury and Finance on 30 November 2015.


Dr Lynne Williams - Acting Chairperson and Commissioner

Lynne Williams - Commissioner image 

Dr Williams was appointed as a Commissioner in September 2013 and as Acting Chairperson in September 2014.

Dr Williams has worked as an economist in the public sector for over 30 years. She currently sits on several boards related to public policy and undertakes small consultancies.

She was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for contributions to economic and public policy in January 2017.

Dr Williams previously held senior executive positions in both the Victorian and Federal public services, including the Victorian Treasury and Finance, Premier and Cabinet and Industry departments, and the Federal Productivity Commission and Bureau of Immigration, Multicultural and Population Research.

Dr Williams is a Commissioner with the Commonwealth Grants Commission and the Victorian Building Authority (VBA) and a member of the Victorian Legal Services Board (VLSB). She also chairs the Audit Committees for both the VBA and VLSCB.

Dr Williams has degrees in economics from the University of Melbourne, the London School of Economics and Monash University. She is a Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia (IPAA) and of St Hilda’s College (University of Melbourne), a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and Secretary of Athletics International (Australia).

Ms June Roache - Commissioner

 June Roache - Commissioner image 

Ms Roache was appointed as a Commissioner in May 2014.

Ms Roache is an independent non-executive director with extensive business experience having held several senior executive roles including Chief Executive of SA Lotteries, and a number of governance roles including Vice President of the World Lottery Association and Chair of the Asia Pacific Lottery Association.

She is currently Chair and a Board member of the South Australian Forestry Corporation, a Commissioner of the SA National Football League Inc and a Board member of the History Trust of SA.

Ms Roache has a degree in accounting from the University of SA, a graduate certificate in management from Monash Mt Eliza Business School and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, CPA Australia and the Institute of Managers and Leaders. 

Mr David Round - Commissioner 

David Round - Commissioner image

Mr Round was appointed as a Commissioner in May 2014.

Mr Round retired as Professor of Economics and Director, Centre for Regulation and Market Analysis at the University of South Australia in April 2014.  For a short period after that he was Research and Innovation Director at Torrens University Australia. He previously taught at the University of Adelaide, Macquarie University, Duke University (USA), the University of Delaware (USA), the College of William and Mary (USA), Wesleyan University (USA), Vanderbilt University (USA) and at Canterbury University in New Zealand.

Since 1998 Mr Round has been a member of the Australian Competition Tribunal.

Mr Round was an Associate Member of the Trade Practices Commission from 1986 to 1993 when he was appointed as an Associate Member of its successor, the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission, until 1998.

Mr Round was an Associate Member of the Australian Telecommunications Authority (AUSTEL) from 1989 to 1997. From 1997 to 2006 he was a Member of the Australian Communications Authority, which took over many of the functions of AUSTEL, as well as additional responsibilities.

Mr Round has authored some 150 papers published in leading Australian and international economic and legal journals, on a variety of industrial economics, competition policy and antitrust topics.

In January 2014, Professor Round was made a Member of the Order of Australia.

Mr Adam Wilson - Chief Executive Officer

 Adam Wilson - CEO image 

Mr Wilson has over 20 years of experience in the legal and regulatory fields, including as Chief Executive Officer for the Commission.

Mr Wilson commenced at the Commission in 2006 and held the role of Director, Consumer and Regulatory Affairs.  Prior to this Mr Wilson practiced law and held senior positions in the legal, regulatory development and reform areas including senior roles with Attorney Generals in South Australia.

Mr Wilson holds a Bachelor of Laws and Arts, and is an alumni of Oxford University SAID Business School. 

Mr Wilson contributes internationally in the economic regulation sector, including as a keynote speaker.