icon-electricity Variation to electricity generation licence – SA Water

  • Project Released: 29 Oct 2018
  • Project Closes: Dec 2018
  • Contact: Julie Dixon


The Commission has received three applications from the South Australian Water Corporation (SA Water) to vary its electricity generation licence to authorise the operation of:

  • a 3.8 megawatt (MW) generating plant at its Waste Water Treatment Plant, Glenelg North
  • a 1.5MW generating plant at its Water Treatment Plant, Hope Valley, and
  • a 4.3MW generating plant at its Waste Water Treatment Plant, Christies Beach.


Current status is Final

  • Initiate
  • Submissions
  • Final


On 12 December 2018, the Commission varied SA Water’s electricity generation licence, to authorise the operation of a 1.5 megawatt generating plant at its Hope Valley Water Treatment Plant.

The Commission undertook a round of public consultation in relation to the application and received no submissions from stakeholders.

The Commission assessed SA Water’s application for an electricity generation licence against the relevant provisions of the Electricity Act 1996 and the Essential Services Commission Act 2002 and determined that all relevant criteria under those Acts have been satisfied. It has therefore approved the application.

A copy of the SA Water licence may be accessed below.