

Advice

Fact Sheet

## Local government advice scheme Schedule of Councils

On 30 April 2022, amendments to the *Local Government Act 1999* established an advisory scheme for local councils. The aim of the scheme is to give ratepayers confidence that the rates they pay are set at the level necessary for their council to provide the services they value. The Essential Services Commission (**Commission**) is the advisory body. The State's 68 councils are subject to the scheme.

To implement the first cycle of the scheme, all councils have been allocated into a relevant scheme year over a four-year prescribed period. The Schedule of Councils for the local government advice scheme, starting in 2022-23 and ending in 2025-26, is in Table 1 below.

2022-23	2023-24	2024-25	2025-26	
Urban Development & Urban City Centre				
Burnside	Marion	Adelaide	Holdfast Bay	
Prospect	Mitcham	Campbelltown	Norwood, Payneham & St Peters	
Salisbury	Walkerville	Charles Sturt	Port Adelaide Enfield	
West Torrens		Gawler	Tea Tree Gully	
		Unley		
Urban Fringe				
Adelaide Hills	Onkaparinga	Alexandrina	Barossa	
	Playford			
Urban Regional				
Murray Bridge	Roxby Downs	Mount Barker	Coober Pedy	
Port Lincoln	Victor Harbor	Mount Gambier	Port Augusta	
	Whyalla			

## Table 1: Schedule of Councils

## **OFFICIAL**

2022-23	2023-24	2024-25	2025-26	
Rural Agricultural: Small & Medium				
Barunga West	Karoonda East Murray	Elliston	Ceduna	
Goyder	Kimba	Flinders Ranges	Mount Remarkable	
Kingston	Northern Areas	Orroroo Carrieton	Peterborough	
	Robe	Tumby Bay	Southern Mallee	
	Cleve <sup>1</sup>	Wudinna	Streaky Bay	
			Franklin Harbour <sup>2</sup>	
Rural Agricultural: Large & Very Large				
Adelaide Plains	Clare & Gilbert Valleys	Coorong	Berri Barmera	
Mid Murray	Grant	Loxton Waikerie	Copper Coast	
Wattle Range	Light	Port Pirie	Kangaroo Island	
Yankalilla	Lower Eyre Peninsula	Tatiara	Naracoorte Lucindale	
Yorke Peninsula	Renmark Paringa		Wakefield	

## **Further Information**

The initial four-yearly Schedule of Councils (2022-23 to 2025-26) came into effect on 30 April 2022. It has been set based on existing local government classifications.

For information on the methodology used to arrive at the Schedule of Councils, refer to <u>Schedule for the</u> <u>scheme (2022-23 to 2025-26)</u>, available on the Commission's website.

Information on the Commission's Framework and Approach is available at:

escosa.sa.gov.au/advice/advice-to-local-government.

For questions on the local government advice scheme or this fact sheet, please email:

advice@escosa.sa.gov.au.

The Essential Services Commission is an independent statutory authority with functions in a range of essential services including water, sewerage, electricity, gas, rail and maritime services, and also has a general advisory function on economic matters. For more information, visit <u>www.escosa.sa.gov.au</u>.

Essential Services Commission GPO Box 2605 ADELAIDE SA 5001 Telephone: (08) 8463 4444 E-mail: <u>escosa@escosa.sa.gov.au</u> Web: <u>www.escosa.sa.gov.au</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The District Council of Cleve has been reallocated to year two of the scheme, to allow the council to focus on unavoidable repairs to its road infrastructure in 2022-23 resulting from a severe storm disaster that impacted 70 percent of its road network.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> The District Council of Franklin Harbour has been reallocated to year four of the scheme, to allow the council to focus on unavoidable repairs to its road infrastructure in 2022-23 and 2023-24 resulting from Cyclone Tiffany.