South Australian Water Regulators' Working Group Charter

October 2018

Together, members of the South Australian Water Regulators' Working Group (**RWG**) are responsible for the economic, environmental, public health, social, and technical regulation of SA Water Corporation (**SA Water**).

The RWG currently comprises representatives of:

- Department for Environment and Water
- Department for Health and Wellbeing
- Department of Human Services
- Environment Protection Authority
- Essential Services Commission, and
- Office of the Technical Regulator.

SA Water is legally responsible for meeting the requirements of the members of the RWG. The RWG acknowledge that the requirements we each impose may result in costs for SA Water, which are ultimately paid by SA Water's customers. It is important that the objectives of regulation are achieved at the lowest sustainable cost.

1 Purpose

The RWG provides a forum for the various regulators to coordinate their efforts to achieving positive outcomes for the South Australian community through their combined regulation of SA Water.

The RWG will clarify the respective roles, functions and priorities of each regulator, to minimise the duplication of effort among regulators, identify any gaps, overlaps or conflicts/tensions in their respective forward work programs and where possible, identify joint solutions or efficiencies.

The RWG will develop a statement of the outcomes that we expect SA Water to achieve over the four-year period 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2024. This will introduce greater transparency for the South Australian community around:

- ▶ our joint expectations of SA Water
- our respective roles in monitoring SA Water's performance, and
- our willingness and ability to work together to deliver those outcomes.

It will also help to inform the Essential Services Commission's Customer Negotiation Committee as it tests and negotiates with SA Water on its proposed business plan 2020.

The RWG will continue to work together throughout the 2020-2024 regulatory period to jointly monitor, evaluate and publicly report on SA Water's performance in meeting regulatory requirements.

2 Commitment

The members of the RWG commit to:

- working together to promote the best long-term outcomes for SA Water's customers and the community, and
- communicating openly to ensure a shared understanding of the overall regulatory system that applies to SA Water, the impact of our regulation on each other's priorities and the combined effect of our regulation on SA Water and its customers.

John Schutz

chip

Christopher McGowan

· Chief Executive

Chief Executive Department for Environment and Water

Department for Health and Wellbeing

Tony Circelli Chief Executive Environment Protection Authority

Adam Wilson Chief Executive Officer Essential Services Commission

Tony Harrison Chief Executive Department of Human Services

ROL

Rob Faunt Technical Regulator Office of the Technical Regulator